Got Me A Cold Pop… Er—Ramune?

Ramune, or Marble Pop as it’s known in Michigan, is a Japanese soda that is sold in uniquely shaped glass bottles with marbles.  It comes with a plunger that you use to push down the glass marble that acts as a stopper for the container. The bottle is shaped to catch the marble in its neck to allow for easy drinking. However, it is impossible to remove the marble without breaking the bottle. (My sisters have tried).

For Christmas, I bought these two Ramune drinks for my two best friends. I visited my local Asian “convenience” store (China Capital Arts), and after being assaulted by cool thing after cool thing, I finally noticed a sale price of $2 and settled on these babies. 🙂

Strawberry and Peach Marble Pop

Strawberry and Peach Marble Pop

Aren’t they cool? Unfortunately, I have never seen them being sold at any other store.

Ramune!

Ramune!

They are sold in a variety of flavors, the oddest being Lychee Nut.

Instructions On How To Open

Instructions On How To Open

Of course, I only bought enough for my friends, so I don’t have any pictures of me opening a bottle for myself. However, I have leeched off of my sister’s drinks before, and I know that these taste great! Especially Blue Hawaiian.

Only 90 Calories!

Only 90 Calories!

This was the most unique Christmas present that I gifted this year. The rest were pillowcases!

Thanks for reading!

~Christina

Leave a comment