Nature’s Magic Quilt – Happy First Day of Spring!

Happy first day of spring, everyone! Yesterday was my last day of school, so now I have two weeks off! I am going to be spending this time sewing a dress for myself so I have something to wear at a wedding next month. 🙂

As you may know, I made a quilt for my grandma back in September as an early Christmas present. This year, I was making a quilt for my other grandma, and two days ago I finally finished it!

Nature's Magic

Nature’s Magic

Dragonfly Close Up

Dragonfly Close Up

It was a milestone birthday for Grandma this month, and this quilt is perfect for her. She loves the color purple, butterflies, dragonflies, flowers, and bright colors. I spent a lot of time quilting the butterfly and dragonfly on my machine; I don’t have any attachments or feet for quilting.

Butterfly Close Up

Butterfly Close Up

Now you may be wondering where I got the pattern from — actually, this was a quilt kit that I had bought from a Big Lots store years ago for $15. It came with instructions, shrunk templates within the instructions, and six yards of fabric for the quilt front and binding. I don’t know if I had even made my first quilt yet when I bought it. The biggest challenge was figuring out where each piece went (is this 5″ x 12″ piece E1 or B2?).

Project Summary:

Time: 15 Hours, 7 Days Total

Size: 60″ x 50″

Start: December 31, 2014

Finish: March 18, 2015

To go along with the gift, this afternoon I made two matching potholders for Grandma. I am planning on giving them to her this evening. She’ll love it!

Matching Potholders

Matching Potholders

Thanks for stopping by!

~Christina

2 thoughts on “Nature’s Magic Quilt – Happy First Day of Spring!

Leave a Reply

